2011 OTAS Award winners announced


Lakewood Theatre Company announces the winners of its 2011 OTAS Awards



On Thursday, June 30, 2011, Lakewood Theatre Company/Lakewood Center for the Arts held its annual meeting and OTAS (Oregon Theatrical Awards Society) presentation at the Lakewood Center to celebrate the closing of its 58th season of plays and its 40th annual OTAS Awards. Emcee for the evening was Alan Shearman, director of the upcoming 2011 production of Boeing-Boeing.

OTAS Award winners 2011 at Lakewood Theatre Company  

Artists recognized during the evening included: 

Best Actress Musical
Amy Beth Frankel as Charity in Sweet Charity

Best Actor Musical
Joe Theissen as Oscar in Sweet Charity

Best Supporting Actress Musical
Kylie Clarke Johnson as Louise in Gypsy

Best Supporting Actor Musical
Ron Daum as Herman in Sweet Charity

Best Actress Play
Ileana Herrin as Catherine Simms in The Foreigner

Best Actor Play
Jeff Gorham as Charlie Baker in The Foreigner

Best Supporting Actress Play
Dalene Young as Betty Meeks in The Foreigner

Best Supporting Actor Play
Isaac Lamb as Tito Merelli in Lend Me A Tenor

Musical Direction
Matt Insley for Gypsy
Kurt Crowley for Sweet Charity

Costume Design
Patricia J. Rohrbach for Gypsy

Best Set Design
Jeff Seats for The Foreigner

Best Light Design
Jeff Forbes for Sweet Charity

Best Choreographer
Amy Beth Frankel & Gina Johnson Morris for Sweet Charity

Best Director Musical
Isaac Lamb for Sweet Charity

Best Director Play
Joe Theissen for The Foreigner

Rising Star Award
Amber Mitchell as Mary Lennox in The Secret Garden
Everett Pearson as Colin Craven in The Secret Garden

Featured Players
Jay Horenstein as Pop and other roles in Gypsy
Don Stewart Burns as Uncle Jacko and other roles in Gypsy

Heritage Award
Ron Daum

Best Musical
Sweet Charity

Best Play
The Foreigner

Award Winners pictured above: bottom row left to right: Everett Pearson, Amy Beth Frankel, Jay Horenstein. Top row: Amber Mitchell, Isaac Lamb, Gina J. Morris, Ileana Herrin, Jeff Gorham and Patricia J. Rohrbach.


In the business meeting earlier the same day, outgoing President Jerry Koll was recognized for his year as leader of the organization. He recognized and thanked retiring board members Debbie Craig and Bruce Ramseyer for their many years of service to Lakewood.

Jerry Koll and Fred Baldwin at Lakewood Center for the ArtsIn official business, the non-profit organization elected Fred Baldwin as President and Don Irving as Treasurer for a one-year term. Members elected to serve three-year board terms were: Jeanne Denton, Lorri Kehoe, Jerry Koll, Tom Lasley and  Bill Warner. For one year terms the following were elected: Rolf Sohlberg and Lakewood Associates 2011-12 President Joann Frankel.